The Voice of the Universities

14/11/2023 HRK Executive Board: Five new elections, two re-elections

Today in Berlin, the General Assembly of the German Rectors' Conference (HRK) elected or reelected seven Vice-Presidents each for a two-year term. In accordance with the HRK Rules of Procedure, the terms of office of all university leaders elected to the Executive Board by the General Assembly automatically end at the end of November following a presidential election. Professor Dr Walter Rosenthal was elected as the new HRK President in May 2023.

At the suggestion of the President, the following persons were newly elected to the Executive Board:

Professor Dr Ulrich Bartosch, educator and President of the University of Passau, as HRK Vice-President with a focus on "Teaching, Studies and Teacher Training",

Professor Dr Angela Ittel, psychologist and President of the Technical University of Braunschweig, as HRK Vice-President with a focus on "International Affairs, Gender Equality, Diversity",

Professor Dr Georg Krausch, physicist and President of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, as HRK Vice-President with a focus on "Research, Academic Career Paths",

Professor Dr Susanne Menzel-Riedl, biology didactics specialist and President of Osnabrück University as HRK Vice-President with a focus on "Organisation and Governance" and **Dr Arne Zerbst**, philosopher and President of the Muthesius University of Fine Arts and Design in Kiel, as HRK Vice-President with a focus on "Cooperation and Diversity within the Higher Education System, Concerns of Universities of the Arts".

The following Executive Board members were confirmed:

Professor Dr Dorit Schumann, economist and President of Trier University of Applied Sciences, as HRK Vice-President with a focus on "Transfer, Sustainability" and **Professor Dr Ulrike Tippe**, mathematician and President of Wildau University of Applied Sciences, as HRK Vice-President with a focus on "Digitalisation and Academic Continuing Education".

In addition to the President, the HRK Executive Board also includes the spokesperson of the Universities Member Group, Professor Dr Anja Steinbeck, Rector of Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf, and the Spokesperson of the Universities of Applied Sciences Member Group, Professor Dr Jörg Bagdahn, President of Anhalt University of Applied Sciences. The new Executive Board will officially take up its work on 1 December 2023.

The President and General Assembly thanked the outgoing and former Vice-Presidents, **Professors Dr Kerstin Krieglstein** and **Dr Susanne Rode-Breymann**, as well as **Professors Dr Bernd Scholz-Reiter** and **Oliver Günther**, **Ph. D.**, for their great commitment to the Executive Committee to date.

53175 Bonn 10117 Berlin